Spinning

In my quest to switch up my workouts and lighten up a bit on the running, I took my first spin class in years. I always have this fear of being the only newbie in a class and am especially nervous in spin because I’m short and afraid I won’t set the seat low enough, etc. But I decided to give it a go yesterday at lunch. The class wasn’t too crowded which probably means it wasn’t that great of an instructor because the lunch-time spin sessions are usually completely booked. I managed to keep up with the class just fine although she would say to tighten up the resistance or pull it back but I never knew just how much resistance I should be feeling. I guess it’s all relative to what people are comfortable with. Overall, I definitely sweat but no more than my usual workouts. And today I’m not sore which isn’t a good thing because I never bike and would think a spin class should make me sore.

For dinner last night it was leftovers. I had 1 low-carb tortilla left and so I made a little quesadilla with some artichoke hearts, leftover black beans, tomato and feta. Came out pretty good but definitely not enough to fill me up.

So after eating that I finished the rest of the artichoke, tomato and black beans with the feta on top. I have been in such a snacking at night mood so I later had some Kashi cereal with fat free milk.

Today I’d like to get in another lunchtime eliptical workout and then tomorrow run 6 miles in the park. It’s supposed to be 88! Happy Friday all.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fitandfortysomething
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 09:57:11

    i love spinning! it is such a hard workout…..you have really been trying new workouts lately- i love it!

    Reply

  2. Beth
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 11:49:18

    I’ve never tried spinning because I’m chicken.. so nice to hear others feel the same way! glad you had a good experience.. i’ll have to check it out soon!

    Reply

  3. Molly
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 15:55:18

    enjoy your run in the park! I’m ready for the warmer temps!

    I read your other post about salmon….have you ever had it blackened? I rub the spice all over it, and grill it, but you can bake it as well. I eat it plain, or it’s perfect in a tortilla.

    Reply

  4. Melissa
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 16:19:27

    That food sounds great.

    I have always wanted to try spinning and wish there was a class closeby!

    Reply

  5. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 16:31:36

    I have yet to try a spinning class. It sounds like so much fun! Especially with the music and such…

    Reply

  6. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 18:32:30

    I’ve never taken a spinning class, but want to! That quesadilla sounds so good. I hope you have a nice 6-miler (sounds too hot for me)!

    Reply

  7. Keri
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 18:55:37

    I have been trying to get into spinning as well. I like it but I can take it or leave it. Honestly I think it is a bit boring which is funny because people say that to me about running all the time and I think running is anything but boring!

    Reply

  8. Julie
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 20:07:54

    Hi Robyn,
    I feel the same way about spin class. I would love to try it but am terrified of being the dorky newbie who gets my butt kicked:) Good for you!

    Your quesadilla looked fantastic! Mmmm:) Happy Friday!

    Reply

  9. Holly @ Rust Belt Runner
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 20:37:18

    I too have been too terrified to try spinning. I LOLed on the bike seat comment. I hear ya!

    Reply

  10. Lauren
    May 01, 2010 @ 14:47:23

    Spinning=my favorite!!! we do this summer. there’s a spin studio on boardwalk in Asbury

    Reply

  11. Jacklyn Johnston
    May 04, 2010 @ 19:35:20

    I love spinning which a year ago, I NEVER would’ve said because it kicks my a$$. haha. I think you need a new instructor if you weren’t sore at all after your first spin class. Or maybe I’m just weak 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

