How to make something bad taste good

I like fish but salmon is definitely not my fave. For years I had a fear of it after eating some when I was younger and (coincidently) throwing up that night. But being that it’s cheap here on the East Coast and easy to make, I figured out a way to cook it up and actually really enjoy it. I took the piece and cut it into 4 smaller segments so that it would fit nicely in my steamer.

I steamed for a few minutes, flipped the pieces over, then steamed some more. All done! (You can tell by the color change.

To make the sauce (the key ingredient to making the dish yummy), I took a can of diced tomatoes and heated it up. Then I drained a can of black beans and heated that up. I plated my fish (so Top Chef of me) and then put some of the tomato and black bean mix on top.

Then the pièce de résistance: Crumbled Feta.

As a side I made asparagus. Also not one of my favorite veggies and I love veggies. I took the bunch and cut off the ends. A trick to know where to cut is to snap one of the stalks and wherever it naturally breaks is where you cut all them off. I layed them out on a piece of parchment paper and sprinkle olive oil, salt, pepper and dried roserary. Put in a pre-heated oven at 425 for about 10 minutes (turning/shaking once) and voila.

Before:

After:

Later on I had a green monster which I haven’t made in quite awhile. I forgot how they fill me up and then keep me from snacking!

Today’s food & fitness:
Chobani blueberry & coffee/skim/3 splendas
Banana
More tuna salad/beans/tomatoes on WW
Leftover asparagus
Cucumber slices and baby carrots

2 mile run on treadmill (19:35)
10 minutes on stairmaster thingy

Happy Wednesday!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 16:26:25

    So funny! I got asparagus and salmon today to make for dinner tomorrow night and I’m still trying to figure out how to prepare it! Too bad we don’t have a steamer or I’d try this! Looks delicious!

    Reply

  2. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 23:40:51

    I don’t really like fish but that looks good. For asparagus, I like olive oil, balsamic, coarse ground salt and a little pepper — then the oven. Yum. What’s the Green Monster?

    Reply

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 23:49:18

    I think you just ate one of my favorite meals… no lies. Such a chef you are!

    Reply

  4. Eileen Ross
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 09:54:37

    I really am impressed with your cooking skills! I was NEVER that creative as a cook. (Robyn’s Mom)

    Reply

  5. fitandfortysomething
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 11:41:22

    what a great way to make salmon-must try it!

    Reply

  6. Beth
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 14:49:45

    I never thought to steam salmon before but that looks delicious with tomatoes + black beans on top! yum!

    Reply

  7. Holly @ Rust Belt Runner
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 14:53:00

    Looks delicious! Uh, stupid question here — Can you tell me more about the steamer? Sounds like a healthy cooking tool. Ie. Right now the Hubz and I boil our frozen veggies. Would a steamer work?

    Maybe this is something I should have put on our wedding registry….

    Reply

    • Robyn
      Apr 29, 2010 @ 15:27:43

      I haven’t used it that much but it’s super cheap, like 10 bucks cheap, at Bed, Bath & Beyond! It fits in most types of saucepans and you just put a little bit of water in the pan and the steamer fits in and whatever veggie etc goes on top. Easy peasy. I would imagine frozen veggies would work well.

      Reply

  8. hundredtenpounds
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 17:39:56

    I’ve never heard of steaming salmon! What a great idea!

    Reply

  9. Julie
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 20:03:14

    I love salmon!! It looks like you know what you are doing in the kitchen! Dinner looks fabulous:)

    Reply

  10. Jacklyn Johnston
    May 04, 2010 @ 19:38:06

    I’m so impressed with you right now! This looks delicious. I need to eat more fish so thanks for this idea. I laughed so hard when you said you plated the food. I love top chef! This is so nerdy but in my planner I have a list of the top chef restaurants I want to visit. haha. And Tom=love!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

