Sometimes it’s nice to go slow

I’ve been super slacking on posting every day, I know! Nothing to report from Friday other than I was so tired (out until 1:30am on a Thursday, don’t judge) and busy at work. Had sushi for dinner and went to bed at 9. Saturday was wonderful though. I woke up to a text from my best friend C saying, “Let me know when you run in the park I might go with you.” I jumped at the chance. I’ve never been one to have a running buddy and C is certainly not a runner but I figured it would be nice to have company, it’s not like I’m training for anything and I should be taking it easy on my limbs anyway. So we went out there and I told her we’d do the 4 mile loop but we didn’t have to run the whole thing. It’s weird to be on the trainer end of it but it was also nice to somewhat pay it forward to someone who wants to run a little bit more and doesn’t think it’s necesarily possible. I wish I brought my camera because it was lovely in Central Park. So we ended up running the first mile in 10:41, walking the second, running the third in 11:52 and then walking most of the fourth before I said let’s sprint this last part. She kept saying I could run ahead and that she was sorry she was slowing me down but the 4 miles were enjoyable and a nice change of pace from my usual Saturday’s where I push myself and feel exhausted everywhere. And I’m proud of C for what she did and wanting to do more next time!

I got back home and showered and we decided to take advantage of the great weather and enjoy the day. It’s a nice feeling to come back from a run and get ready and go rather than feel like I need my bed to recover! Here I am ready to head out.

Yep, that’s Kelly and Brandon on my TV in the background.

We headed down to Union Square and walked through the Farmer’s Market. I wanted to buy every flower they had!

We were only starting our day so I didn’t get anything. We had a delicious lunch at Pipa where I had a mushroom burger. So good. Then it was time to shop! I ended up scoring J Crew jeans on sale and a sweater on sale. Somehow the pants were perfect length (and they’re skinny jeans which I love) so of course I’m thinking they must be meant as capris. Buy whatev, one girl’s capris are another’s perfect full-length pants.

After shopping we decided to get a glass of wine and some meat and cheese. My first after the week of being a vegetarian. I later had a terrible stomach ache, coincidence? This pic is definitely better than if I had remembered to take one of us pre-run.

Cheers to a great Saturday!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hundredtenpounds
    Apr 25, 2010 @ 20:45:39

    Did you add too much veggies to your diet? That sometimes causes me stomach cramps.

    Reply

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Apr 25, 2010 @ 22:15:54

    I can’t wait to have time to hit my first Farmer’s Market of the season! I guess it’s one good thing about not being able to sleep in anymore on the weekends… 😉

    Reply

  3. Julie
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 12:38:44

    Hi Robyn,
    Thanks for your nice comment! I am so jealous of you getting to go to Central Park! New York is on the top of my list for places to run:) Nice job on your 4 mile loop! I am also looking forward to Farmer’s Market season here in Minneapolis:) Happy Monday!

    Reply

  4. fitandfortysomething
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 14:18:50

    what a great day! it is so nice to run or walk with a friend and how fun that you are motivating her 🙂

    Reply

  5. Keri
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 18:41:00

    Thanks for stopping by! Great blog…love that you have 90210 on tv. Saturday was a beautiful day to run and be outside 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

