The good news is tomorrow’s Friday

Today I’m a busy bee at work and I’m just looking forward to the weekend. I’ve got nothing planned, woohoo! So yesterday I went to the doc for a yearly physical and I’m interested in getting the results back. I’ve been so tired lately where I cannot stay awake past 8 or 9pm but then I wake up in the middle of the night and toss and turn. It’s such a vicious cycle. There could be a lot of different causes for this so they’re checking my thyroid and vitamin levels but it could also be a result of mt allergies. Did you know the biggest symptom of allergies is fatigue? Makes sense. We sniff and such all night and don’t realize that’s waking us up. I got a refill on my nose spray and took the recommendation of my doctor to get a saline solution or netty pot. I bought Salt Air. Let’s see how it works. Snorting liquid up one nostril and having it come out the other freaks me out but let’s just see what happens.

I also bought two new books. Yes, I’m already in the middle of Twilight: New Moon but I couldn’t resist. I got Intuitive Eating (thanks to Fit & Forty Something‘s rec) as well as Bright Lights, Big Ass because it just looked funny. Perhaps these will be my Hawaii beach reads. Oh yes, let me rub it in your faces again. I’m going to Hawaii May 8th.

This morning I got up for another 6am run and I’m a little concerned about what’s going on with the lower half of my body. I could only do 2.25 miles because my ankles and shins hurt and just felt strained. Should this worry me? Am I running too much? Am I just being a baby? I love my Garmin but the only thing that annoys me is trying to get a satellite in NYC. I’d love to step out of my bldg and go but I can’t get it to work until I’m at the water on the East River or by the reservoir in the park. This means the early part of my run doesn’t count so I end up walking and jogging because hey if my Garmin can’t count it, I’m not going to do it.

Happy Earth Day!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hundredtenpounds
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 19:01:52

    When was your last rest day?

    Reply

    • Robyn
      Apr 23, 2010 @ 14:58:51

      I ran 1 mile Mon, 3 Tues, rested Wed but then Thurs had trouble. I guess I’ll see how I feel tomorrow when I go for my longer run.

      Reply

  2. Melissa
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 21:09:24

    I’m jealous. Hawaii sounds awesome.
    That sucks about the satellite signal. That is aggravating.

    Reply

  3. Jacklyn
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 08:26:37

    I have problems with my shins. It could be all the running on the pavement (that’s what people tell me). Once I’m running again I think I’m going to do 1 run a week on grass or trail…I mean you can find that in NYC can’t you 😉 Honestly, I was hesitant about getting them, but compression socks have done WONDERS for my shins.

    Reply

  4. Beth
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 10:37:47

    AHH i totally hear you about the Garmin. I have SO much trouble getting it to detect the satellites in DC and it sometimes takes 10 minutes which drives me crazy. Other than that, I love it, but its sooo frustrating!

    Reply

  5. fitandfortysomething
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 13:26:28

    well i hope your tests come back good……a while back i got tested for thyroid and nutritional deficiency and found out a lot of stuff-it was well worth it to get checked!
    also, thank you for the blog love with the book 🙂
    hope your lower body feels better? maybe you need some cross training to rest the running legs?
    i still covet your garmin!
    happy friday 🙂

    Reply

  6. allison
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 14:47:49

    You are going to LOVE Jen Lancaster! ( I hope!) I think she is an amazing, entertaining, hilarious author. She also has a blog that is quite comical. jennsylvania.com
    Regarding the lower body fatigue/pain…always listen to your body. Pain is your body’s way of telling you to stop what you are doing that is causing the pain. Maybe take a day or two off and see how you feel. Hopefully a few days rest will cure whatever it is!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

