Switching it up

I tend to go through food phases and after last week decided I really need to switch up my daily lunch routine. I scoured the internet for easy and healthy ideas and came up with this Tuscan-Style Tuna Salad. I haven’t made tuna salad in a while and liked this one because it has no mayo and includes white beans. I love me some beans. Recipe calls for:
2 6-ounce cans chunk light tuna, drained
1 15-ounce can small white beans, such as cannellini or great northern, rinsed
10 cherry tomatoes, quartered
4 scallions, trimmed and sliced
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1/4 teaspoon salt
Freshly ground pepper, to taste

Easy enough. I made it Monday night and yesterday (and today I’ll have it as well) enjoyed it with an Arnold 7-grain sandwich thin and some Pacific Organic Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup that I get at Costco.

As you all know, I’ve been frustrated with the whole weight thing. I decided not to renew WW (my subscription ended and I hadn’t followed it anyway) but stumbled upon a site called MyFitnessPal.com that I’m trying. Granted it’s only the 2nd day and usually I give up calorie counting easily. I imput all my food and exercise yesterday and basically my stats came up that with the 3 mile run I did in the morning, my daily goal was 1,495 calories, 205 grams carbs, 49 grams fat. I ended up over my calories by 131, over carbs by 24g and under fat by 9 grams. Not awful. It did give me the message when I completed the entry that “If every day were like today…   You’d weigh 125.0 lbs in 5 weeks.” (That’s a 5-lb loss). I’ll take it. Speaking of my run yesterday, when I got back to my apt I did some lunges and I’m not sure if that’s the cause but my inner thighs are ridiculously sore today.

For dinner I cooked up a tofu veggie stir fry. I have to say I’m not a picky eater and like most things I make but this one could’ve been a little better. Definitely needed some color. I sautéed chopped broccoli in some EVOO and then added soy sauce and vegitable stock. I then added this great baby bok choy. Look how perty.


I added the chopped choy and bean sprouts and scallions to the mix. I may have also finished (aka licked) the container of hummus I had left while I was cooking.

So I cooked everything up and added a block of diced tofu.

Since I wanted to have leftovers and also thought I could use some starch, I tried out a Gardenburger Veggie Medley patty to have on the side. Yes, these two meals don’t go but whatevs.

Home from work eating a healthy meal, reading Self, with Millionaire Matchmaker on in the background. Does it get any better?

I also decided I’m going to be a vegetarian this week in honor of Earth Day. I’ll let you know how it goes.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 11:01:47

    I like how that site gives you little updates like that! It’s probably a great motivator… except, of course, when you have a big weekend and it says “yeah, keep this up and you’ll pack on 20 lbs in one week… seriously, have another beer and see what happens…”

    Reply

  2. fitandfortysomething
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 12:25:33

    i love your tuna recipe. i am with you i love beans 🙂 have you thought of reading intuitive eating? i am reading it now and supposedly it is supposed to help people find there happy weight easily.
    have a great day girl!

    Reply

    • Robyn
      Apr 22, 2010 @ 09:12:08

      I just put it on hold at B&N. I have so many books about different ways to stop myself from obsessing but I’ll give this one a try!

      Reply

  3. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 15:16:54

    I need something to help track my calories. Thanks for posting the site, I’m going to check it out!

    BTW, your food always looks so good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

