Another 1st-timer

My good friend Lauren is running in her very first half marathon this Sunday! She’s actually the person who inspired me to run in mine as well. 2 summers ago I started my running journey and this past summer Lauren started hers. Together we ran in a bunch of 5k races and our first 5-miler! Here’s a pic from the race.

I love how excited and proud we were for running 5 miles and less than a year later we can now do 13.1! If she hadn’t pushed herself to the next level, I wouldn’t have either. It may have been my competitive nature that I couldn’t have her do more than me hehe but I’m so glad she set the bar high.

Good luck on Sunday, Lauren, I can’t wait to hear all about it. Love you!!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lauren
    Apr 16, 2010 @ 15:21:31

    Awe. Thanks so much for this post Robyn. I feel special. I am soooooooo proud of you for pushing yourself. Reading your blog, and having you to commiserate with has helped push me too. You the bestest. Looking forward to running lots of races this summer with you. Cant wait! xoxo

    Reply

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Apr 16, 2010 @ 15:48:40

    It’s always so great to have friends that are as excited about the same things as you! I wish her the best of luck!

    Reply

  3. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Apr 16, 2010 @ 23:41:21

    Awesome! Good luck, Lauren!

    Reply

  4. Jacklyn Johnston
    Apr 17, 2010 @ 08:24:52

    Good luck Lauren!

    Reply

  5. Michelle Regina Iacobelli
    Apr 17, 2010 @ 09:58:11

    brings a tear to my eye… so proud of you both! u both need to whip me into shape this summer!

    Reply

  6. Previously Plump
    Apr 17, 2010 @ 11:43:23

    Isn’t it amazing how quick you can progress with running…. it’s such a good feeling 🙂

    Reply

  7. Lauren
    Apr 17, 2010 @ 14:11:00

    Thanks everyone!!! 🙂

    Reply

  8. kelli
    Apr 18, 2010 @ 07:13:17

    wow! that is so great! It is so great to have friends that love the same things as you & are not in it to compete with you…rather to enjoy and reach the same goal together!!

    Well this is it for me… last week until the NYC half. I am scared as ever…the last 2 weeks have been horrible at work for me..stress stress and more stress. At first I thought I had a stomach bug…and usually the running helps the stress..but the stress was pretty bad!!!
    Anyway, I am a little disappointed in myself for not training as hard last week.
    Wish me luck next sunday! Today is a 4 miler race!!!

    Looking forward to hearing about your future races!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

