Secret gym not so secret anymore

For a long time now, I’ve been going to the gym a block from my office. I always found it easier to get myself there by going straight from work as opposed to once I’ve gotten home. More recently I’ve been an avid lunchtime gym goer. For awhile I’d run into a co-worker here and there but mostly from the other part of my company that I didn’t really work with. We’d sorta acknowledge seeing each other as if we were part of this unspoken don’t tell my boss I’m here club, but never actually utter a word to each other. Now that’s changed. My secret getaway is truly no longer hidden and today I saw another person I work with and had to say hi. I don’t mind running to the girls so much but seeing a man who works down the hall from me while I’m sweaty, in a tight tank and somewhat short shorts just doesn’t feel right. I refuse to give up my lunchtime exercising but I guess I’ll have to get used to the notion that my gym is not really my gym.

Does seeing co-workers outside of work weird you out?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fitandfortysomething
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 13:29:57

    sometimes yes…..like a coworker told me he say me running the other day. i kinda felt like i had been violated! creeped me out….i get why you feel like that πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Holly @ Rust Belt Runner
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 16:54:58

    I think I thought it was weird at first but now it doesn’t bother me. I just wave or say “hi” but keep it short. Waving is usually pretty easy because the other person knows you are there for a reason and not there to socialize.

    I have actually befriended gym coworkers before too and before I know it have become workout buddies.

    I seem to have other random encounters though that I find more interesting, like seeing the sheriff at the gym.

    And I guess on the attire, I just don’t wear anything that I wouldn’t feel uncomfortable in — if I ran into someone I knew.

    Reply

  3. hundredtenpounds
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 16:55:37

    I run at lunch and see a lot of coworkers also running. I don’t mind it at all! I always return to the office freshly showered and in my regular clothes again. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. Jacklyn Johnston
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 17:49:06

    It bothers me because I am not a cute worker outer πŸ™‚ I am drenched in sweat so those awkward out of the office encounters…not my thing πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. Sarah
    Apr 16, 2010 @ 10:08:20

    Definitely know what you mean! I feel so strange when I see co-workers outside of work…whether it be at the grocery store, gym or bar. It’s just weird and I usually try to avoid them as much as possible. Happy Friday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

