Otarian

Last night I went to an event for work that was at the opening of a new restaurant Otarian, labeled as the planet’s first low carbon restaurant. Not only is the food vegetarian, but sustainable and every item has been measured for it’s impact on the environment and carbon footprint. It’s going to be a chain and has a hip fast-food vibe to it. Let me just say everything I tried from a mini mushroom burger to spinach tart to sweet potato nuggets was delicious. Here’s a pic I snapped on the b’berry of the tacos.

And how cute is this packaging?

The woman who started the restaurant gave a great speech about her mission and I left thinking heavily about becoming a full-time vegetarian. Here’s a small write-up the NY Times did: http://dinersjournal.blogs.nytimes.com/2010/04/14/off-the-menu-otarian/

Have you ever changed your eating habits based on social causes?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 09:19:08

    This sounds great! I’ll have to check it out.
    I’m not sure if I’ve totally changed my eating habits due to a social cause, but Michael Pollan and Food, Inc. have definitely changed my views about food (opened my eyes to reality) and in turn I have changed my eating habits. I don’t really think it’s a social cause, but I suppose it is related.

    Reply

  2. N.D.
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 10:05:55

    This looks so cool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

