Training in the off season

Now that my half is done I feel like I’m in the off-season. But this worries me because I really want to keep up my hard work but I have nothing really to train for. There’s a bunch of 5k and 5 mile races I’m doing this summer but I ideally would love to find a 10k or even 10 mile race that could keep me motivated. I ran 3 miles Monday, did the eliptical Tues and 2 miles yesterday but it’s weird not having a specific goal in my head. This is precisely what I was afraid of. I’m hoping to get a 6-miler in on Saturday so I can still feel good about doing long runs. In terms of my eating, I really have to get back on track. I’ve had a few big meals like Mexican and margaritas on Tuesday and lots of chocolate (that damn bunny) but next week I’ve gotta get focused. I’m up 2 pounds so I want to get those back off. I’ve been awesome about packing my breakfast and lunch for work. Here’s just a day’s worth!  

No wonder my gym bag is packed to the brim every day. Have a great Thursday!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fitandfortysomething
    Apr 08, 2010 @ 11:37:38

    you are doing so great with all of your workouts. do not worry about the 2 pounds-it could be nothing except water weights and salt from going out to eat. hope you find a race you want to do 🙂

    Reply

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Apr 08, 2010 @ 13:06:08

    That’s what my bag looks like, too! Just call me the tupperware queen… 🙂

    Reply

  3. Lisa
    Apr 08, 2010 @ 13:19:19

    Yeah, I have nothing on the near horizon to train for but I’m following a schedule anyway. Otherwise it’s too easy to make excuses.

    Looks like you are still getting in some good workouts.

    Damn Mexican food is the bane of my existence lol.

    Reply

  4. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Apr 08, 2010 @ 14:38:31

    Sounds like me. This is what happens. And then you sign up for a full marathon.

    Reply

  5. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Apr 08, 2010 @ 17:06:41

    2lbs is a daily weight fluctuation! seriously. But, i know how you feel. I have a few lbs to lose too!

    I’m thinking about signing up for the Hartford or Philly half in the fall. I’d love to travel for a race, which I haven’t done yet, and think these would be great (Hartford is also the ‘greenest’ race!). The NYRR Dash & Splash 10K in July is usually a good run. You can go swimming when you finish!

    Reply

  6. Holly
    Apr 08, 2010 @ 17:23:59

    Love your blog. And I have the same red Rubbermaid tupperware 😉

    I’m sure you will figure out some “maintenance mode” to stay with that will keep ya going.

    I’m new to the bloggy/runner world. Keep up the running and writing!

    Reply

  7. Jacklyn Johnston
    Apr 09, 2010 @ 16:12:05

    You’re doing much better than me already! After my first half I stopped running for a year. Bad decision. You’re smart to keep up the good work you’ve started. How about a marathon 😉

    I’m thinking speedwork this summer. Do you have a group that does that by you? That could be cool.

    Reply

  8. Holly @ Rust Belt Runner
    Apr 09, 2010 @ 20:38:08

    Right now I’m just focusing on the half. A marathon sounds terrifying still! LOL.

    There are some running groups in town but I haven’t checked any out just yet due to my crazy work schedule and fear that I will be the slowest runner in the troop……

    Reply

Leave a Reply

