Post race reflections

So now that I’ve had a few days to recover from my race I have a few thoughts. So happy my stomach didn’t cramp up during and I didn’t make any jolts to the porta-potty. Never wear bandaids on your toes because they’ll end up giving you a nasty and painful blister that now looks like this:  I always thought I couldn’t run without music but after awhile I just couldn’t listen to it anymore. I never thought I’d be one to take my headphones off and just enjoy (or curse) the run with nothing but nature in my ears. Also sitting on your ass because you’re in pain after the race doesn’t help. When I ventured out Saturday evening for wine and frozen yogurt (seriously), I realized the walk back felt better than the walk there.

So the weather has been glorious here in NYC and today I did a short 3 mile recovery run to try to get my legs to feel normal and not like those of an 80-year-old’s. I tried out my new Ryders that I won from KC and I really liked them. Didn’t feel like I was running with sunglasses and the adjustable nose piece fits comfortably. The only complaint is that the sweat got in my eyes more than usual but that’s also because I’m usually wearing a hat. All in all I definitely recommend these bad boys.  With that, I’m going back to my chocolate bunny that I got from my roomie’s mom (I love when families make me a part of their holiday that I don’t celebrate). I may have eaten a lot of it already. Yum.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 00:04:59

    I am the blister queen. I feel your pain. You don’t want to know how many I have right now. Love those glasses. They look kick-a$$!

    PS: Thanks for your comment today. I’m going to cut back to running 3x/week, I think. Hope it’s enough to get me through 26.2, but I need my sanity. Right? Right?! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Jacklyn Johnston
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 08:24:54

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s feet look like that. I’m a little nervous about summer sandals this year with my gnarly feet. gross. I think a pedicure may be in my future after May 2nd.

    Reply

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 09:14:09

    Oh that toe just looks straight-up painful! Eek…

    Reply

  4. Tonia
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 09:47:30

    OK, I just threw up in my mouth when I saw your toe. Ew!

    To answer your question, Jeremy and I met on a recruiting trip for college. He was my host for the day when I went to visit Cornell. We didn’t see each other again for two years. Then when he was a senior and I was a sophomore our colleges went on a joint-track team trip to England where we met again and started dating.

    Reply

  5. fitandfortysomething
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 10:45:14

    oh ouch on the toe! good for you for goingout and running today to recover-very smart! unfortunatley i am not as smart!
    i am the same way about music-i can listen for a while and then i have had enough 🙂

    Reply

  6. Sarah
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 11:33:35

    Hmmm I may have to remember that for after my half…walking for wine and frozen yogurt sounds like just the thing! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

