Race report- My first 13.1

Wow where to begin? Let’s just say I’m writing this in a much better state, now that it’s been a few hours since the race ended. Car ride home was a little brutal and I totally puked…in my hat. Sweet. So let’s back it up to yesterday’s packet pickup. It was a bit of a hike to get down to World Financial but it was a beautiful area I’ve never really explored. It’s downtown, on the water.
 The race shirts we got were pretty cool, I hate working out in short-sleeves but I may just sport this little green guy.  It’s actually dry-fit material and the back lists all the locations of the 13.1 series.

Last night I was kinda a wreck. So nervous and anxious. Had a great pre-race meal though that I’m starting to swear by.

Needless to say I didn’t get much sleep and woke up tired! But I also found this note when I was getting ready from my roommate Krys who couldn’t be there today.

It’s the little things that make me smile. So, My sister Hayley and her boyfriend Derek (who ran the race too) picked up myself, my roommate Natalie, and friend Ariel. The 5 of us headed off to good ‘ole Queens. We got there early but before I knew it, it was race time! I had a minor freakout with the new Garmin but it ended up working out perfectly. Here’s a little pre-race shot of me and my girls.  My sis took a ton more race pics but I only have the few she took with her phone and uploaded to facebook. So more to come… Ok so race begins and this older man falls in a pot hole and twists his ankle. Seriously, it was 5 seconds after the start. Poor guy. My first mile was fast, 9:20. Derek and I lost each other within the first mile due to the crowd but I knew he’d run ahead anyway. First few miles were OK, I tried the whole grab a water and run thing which totally didn’t work. I think this is one of my attempts.  Clearly this is early on because I’m hamming it for the camera. I was also pretty positive I had the pee the entire race, but apparently I didn’t because I didn’t even pee until I got home. I was amazed at how many people used the porta potties throughout the race, even early on, and some just literally popped a squat on the side of the road. About mile 2 I saw my girlies and again at about 4. The one negative to the race was also a positive for me. Since it was in a park in Queens there weren’t too many spectators. I kinda wished I was running the streets of NYC where no matter what people will cheer you on. There were stretches of the race where I completely alone. The plus side was I saw my entourage about 6 times. That’s pretty freakin awesome. At about mile 6 I was hungry, and I’m never usually hungry during the run. I had breakfast at 6:30 though and the race started at 9:15 so makes sense. Made me nervous though and I had a few honey stingers. Mile 7 and 8 I realized I had to stop at the next water station and actually drink the whole cup. Figures when I realize this the stations were MIA. Finally I got to one and the water tasted so good. Mile 9 was brutal. I was in pain. My right foot/toes killed and my left knee was just hurting. I really didn’t know if I’d make it. Whoever said that adrenaline carries you through the last 3 miles is an effin liar because I almost gave up. I just wanted it all to be over. I didn’t care about my time, I just wanted to finish without puking. Towards the finish I saw my friends and Hayley and Derek (he finished at about 1:54) and while you would think that was the end of the race, we were majorly faked out. 1 more loop around the lake before heading into the home stretch. I think I even yelled out, where the f*ck is this finish. Also turns out the race went long and was actually 13.2 according to my Garmin. Like I needed that extra tenth of a mile, right?

I finished in 2:20 exactly and when I finally saw my sister just about burst into tears. I felt so accomplished, so proud, but was in so much pain and was so drained. Like I said, the car ride home was tough. We were stuck in traffic and I puked. Low blood sugar for you. After showering I realized the pain in my foot was because of this nasty guy:  In case you can’t tell that’s a bit, fat, juicy blister. Gross. I popped it and the fluid poured out. I also got this amazing surprise when I got home from my friend Cate who is home this weekend and couldn’t make it to cheer me on.  The best part was the card. The florist apparently didn’t understand what she said and my name became Robin Roff (it’s really Robyn Ross). What this note is supposed to say I’m not too sure.  After eating a turkey sandwich and bag of chips, I’m finally in bed, icing and ready for relaxation. So you wanna see my splits and other deets? Thanks to my Garmin I can tell ya!

Time: 02:20:01
Moving Time: 02:19:05
Elapsed Time: 02:20:02
Avg Pace: 10:36 min/mi
Avg Moving Pace: 10:31 min/mi
Best Pace: 07:14 min/mi

Mile 1- 9:20
Mile 2- 9:51
Mile 3- 9:52
Mile 4- 10:12
Mile 5- 9:52
Mile 6- 10:41
Mile 7- 10:27
Mile 8- 10:48
Mile 9- 11:06
Mile 10- 11:23
Mile 11- 11:37
Mile 12- 11:58
Mile 13- 10:48
Mile 14- 1:59

Thanks to everyone who commented on my pre-race post and gave me good lucks and motivating words of wisdom. I’m officially a half-marathoner!!

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth Hickey
    Apr 03, 2010 @ 15:59:45

    Robyn-good job.. you ran awesome! I really enjoyed reading about your race day from start to finish! I was laughing thinking about the water issue… I’m pretty sure I was wearing most of the water every time I tried to drink and keep running! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Lauren
    Apr 03, 2010 @ 16:01:53

    Ill say it again. Sooooooooo proud of you!!!

    Reply

  3. Hayley
    Apr 03, 2010 @ 16:05:37

    knew you could do it all along..personally I think it was my beautiful sign that kept you motivated 😉 great recap!

    Reply

  4. kelli
    Apr 03, 2010 @ 16:20:01

    that is sooo awesome!! You did great! Congratulations!!!!! WOW!!!! I am nervous about mine…not sure how many “cheer-ers” I will have! Since we have to travel to nyc for the actual race!lol… That must have been great motivation for you!
    SO now what is next?????? Any more races in the future?
    And do you think your garmin worked out for you???
    Congrats again! What an accomplishment…aside from the exhaustion..you must feel GREAT!

    Reply

  5. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Apr 03, 2010 @ 16:34:48

    I’m sorry it was so rough, but CONGRATULATIONS!! You crossed the finish line and you’ve run your first half! Take it easy, enjoy the feeling of success and acomplishment! No one can take that from you!

    (that card is hilarious! so sweet of her to send you flowers!)

    Reply

  6. kate aka cate
    Apr 03, 2010 @ 17:24:16

    im DYING reading that card. what the f????
    hahah.
    robin aka robyn.
    wow. that is awesome.
    but i am glad my flowers got there and you are resting.
    so wish i was there to celebate YOU
    love u

    Reply

  7. kate aka cate
    Apr 03, 2010 @ 17:24:43

    and by celebate – i mean celebrate.
    wow

    Reply

  8. runeatdatesleep
    Apr 03, 2010 @ 20:09:08

    Woohoo! Congratulations! That’s an awesome time for your first half! Those last 3 miles are killer for everyone, so don’t feel alone in your struggles 🙂

    You did awesome!

    Reply

  9. kelly f
    Apr 03, 2010 @ 23:12:11

    Congrats!!! I’m so proud of you!!!

    Reply

  10. Angie Bishop
    Apr 04, 2010 @ 00:29:58

    Congratulations!!!
    You have transcended into a new realm of running. Just wait until your half is an easy run! Good job girl 🙂

    Reply

  11. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Apr 04, 2010 @ 01:14:15

    Congratulations, Robyn! Great recap. Sorry you got sick. One of the best pieces of advice I got before my first half was, I think, from Amanda at 5 Miles 2 Empty. She told me to drink a chocolate milk after the race and that totally saved me from the low blood sugar thing. After both my halfs, I got really dizzy. Sorry I didn’t think to tell you that BEFORE your race.

    You did an awesome job — you look strong in those pics! I remember thinking the same thing about wanting the race to just be over during my first half, too. And I was really nervous the night before and didn’t get much sleep either. I think it gets better because you know what to expect. The second one was waaaay better. It helped I had Zoe (Run, Zoe, Run) running with me.

    Congrats, again! Sooooo…what’s next?! 😉

    PS: Another thing we have in common: I have a sister named Hayley. Spelled the same way.

    Reply

  12. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Apr 04, 2010 @ 01:23:56

    Good for you! SO excited for you!

    And I love that you had peeps there to support you! Hooray!!! 🙂

    Reply

  13. Tonia
    Apr 04, 2010 @ 07:55:48

    Congrats! Awesome job. I love all the pictures. What’s next for you? A full? Happy Easter!

    Reply

  14. Trackback: Latest Moving Comfort Sports Bra Auctions | Gold Standard Reviews
  15. Previously Plump
    Apr 04, 2010 @ 22:06:44

    Good god, you’re amazing!!!! Congrats a million times over, you did a wicked awesome job 🙂

    You must be so proud of yourself – what a freakin’ amazing accomplishment!

    Reply

  16. Anne
    Apr 04, 2010 @ 23:38:35

    Congrats on your first half-marathon!
    I run my first half in May and I’m pretty excited…but, also a little scared 🙂

    I really enjoyed reading your race recap and I would be thrilled with a 2:20 finish!

    Reply

  17. Jocelyn
    Apr 05, 2010 @ 08:51:12

    Minus being sick…GREAT JOB! First 1/2 done and you rocked it 🙂 Thats an amazing time and you should be very happy! Congrats

    Reply

  18. 3:59:59. Bitches
    Apr 05, 2010 @ 11:18:35

    Congrats on a great race! Puking only makes you more badass!

    Reply

  19. fitandfortysomething
    Apr 05, 2010 @ 12:07:35

    that is so great-that is a long way to run and you did it! i had a tough race too on sunday short but tough 🙂
    good job robyn!

    Reply

  20. Sarah
    Apr 05, 2010 @ 12:08:11

    Congrats you did it!!! And great time too.

    Reply

  21. Jacklyn Johnston
    Apr 05, 2010 @ 16:15:38

    CONGRATS CONGRATS CONGRATS!!! Looks like you did great! I am catching up on my reading and when I saw that title of this in my reader, I knew I had to read it first. So excited for you! Rest up and relax. So when’s your next one 😉 P.S. I love that you said, “where the f*ck is this finish” HAHA. Been there done that. Congrats!

    Reply

  22. nova 2 hd apk
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 03:28:52

    Race report- My first 13.1 Ramblings of a Wannabe Writer and Runner I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my difficulty. You’re incredible! Thanks! your article about Race report- My first 13.1 Ramblings of a Wannabe Writer and Runner Best Regards Nick Andy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

