13.1 Time!

This is it, tomorrow is the big day, the race I’ve been training hard for since December, the reason I’ve run in the rain and snow and frigid temps and the goal I set for myself months ago. Tomorrow I will run in my first half marathon. Two summers ago I started running and did my first 5k race. I was proud. Last summer I ran my first 5 mile race and was even more impressed with myself. I’ve always been an athlete, but never a runner. A few months ago I decided to push one step further and challenge myself to run 13. 1 miles. I never would’ve imagined what training has given me and how my love (and sometimes hate) for running has developed. Having a positive goal to work towards has done wonders for me, and every Saturday when I reached a new distance, the feeling I got inside was unforgettable. This race means the world to me and I’m also sad for it to be over. I know there will be more in the future, but never again will it be my first. I know I’m going to have tough moments tomorrow, but I cannot wait to cross that finish line. 13.1, here I come.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Eileen Ross
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 10:30:17

    Wish we could be at the finish line

    Reply

  2. kelli
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 11:13:34

    HEY!!! Good luck! You are going to do great. I can’t wait to hear all about it! I am so curious as to what the race will be like!!
    HAVE FUN!!!!! AND ENJOY IT!! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Previously Plump
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 11:22:12

    Oh Gosh – Good luck, you’re going to do awesome 🙂 I can’t wait to read your post run blog post 🙂

    HAVE A GREAT TIME!!!

    Reply

  4. Suzy
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 11:46:06

    GL tomorrow!! Enjoy the half.

    Reply

  5. Tonia
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 12:07:33

    Good luck girly! Can’t wait to hear all about it!

    Reply

  6. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 12:10:27

    Can’t wait to hear about the recap! Good luck!

    Reply

  7. Lisa
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 12:17:55

    This is such a great post. Really sums up how I feel about running.

    Good luck tomorrow. Can’t wait to read all about it.

    Reply

  8. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 12:19:28

    Great post, Robyn. I will be thinking about you tomorrow. It will be a special day and I will be looking forward to your recap, of course. You’re going to do great!

    Reply

  9. naomi
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 12:55:35

    good luck with your inaugural half. enjoy it!

    Reply

  10. Heather (HLSMOC18)
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 13:13:26

    Hope you have a fun race…times really don’t matter, just make sure you enjoy yourself!!

    Reply

  11. DrKeith
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 13:44:33

    You’ll do great. Just keep on running and remembering that you can in fact can do this – as what’s 13.1 miles? just a number and a long distance you’ve trained for. PODER~!

    Plus as your inagural one, you have no PR to beat, and don’t worry about other runners, be selfish and all about you.

    Reply

  12. Angie Bishop
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 13:53:19

    Have a great race tomorrow!!! Run happy 🙂

    Reply

  13. Sarah
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 15:40:59

    Good luck tomorrow! I can’t wait to hear all about it!

    Reply

  14. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 18:49:57

    You are totally ready for the race tomorrow! You’ve done the training and it sounds like you’re mentally ready for it too! I can’t wait to read your report! Enjoy every minute of it!

    Good luck!!

    Reply

  15. Tall Mom- Mel
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 23:34:00

    GOOD LUCK! That first 13.1 Finish line is AMAZING. rock it out you are a RUNNER!!

    Reply

  16. ShutupandRun
    Apr 03, 2010 @ 10:13:27

    Good luck, good luck!! Can’t wait to hear how it goes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

