Bikram Yoga

Last night I so bravely entered the world of Bikram Yoga. I went along with my friend Jeremy who was only going back for his second time, but decided it may be good for stretching for the race, and heck, I’ll try anything once. As we waited for the class before us to end and people started trickling out I said, “um they look like they just got out of the shower!” Yep, was J’s response. We went in and got a spot in the back. The instructor immediately saw that I was the only newbie and said I was going to love it. Ha. The one downside was she had a super thick accent so it was hard to follow and I didn’t exactly know if I was doing everything right. I was surprised by the lack of inhibitions the men in the class showed. Lots of short shorts like this:

After about 10 minutes I was hot but then the real heat came on and I was like, oh so the heat wasn’t even on yet?? I kept up pretty well and although I was dripping sweat, it felt good. It was only at the end of the 90 minutes that I had to take a break from so many up and down movements because I was getting a little light-headed. All in all a good experience, I’d probably go back but not sure I’ll keep it in my weekly rotation. The week pass was $23 bucks but it gets expensive to do it often. Have any of you ever tried it?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Previously Plump
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 11:56:02

    hmm, never tried it – not a big fan of Yoga to be honest…. I’m more of a bootcamp girl πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. kalli@fitandfortysomething.com
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 14:16:29

    not yest but i sooooo want to. it is expensive though 😦

    Reply

  3. Angie Bishop
    Apr 01, 2010 @ 00:29:06

    yoga can be quite hard and a very intense workout! I bet its nice to detoxify with the heat πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. Melissa
    Apr 01, 2010 @ 09:32:10

    Sounds pretty interesting. I do think I would have taken a while to quit staring at the shorty shorts though.

    Reply

  5. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Apr 01, 2010 @ 10:20:10

    That is kind of pricey! Glad you liked it, though!

    I wonder if I could get the same experience “recessionista style” with a space heater and candles at home? ha.

    Reply

  6. Trackback: I’m on a roll « Ramblings of a Wannabe Writer and Runner

Leave a Reply

