Thoughts about online dating?

Today seems like just about the longest day ever. Maybe it’s because it’s Tuesday, maybe because I’m anxious for Saturday’s race, I don’t know, but since I’m struggling today I thought I’d pose this question: What are you thoughts about online dating? Yes, not a running or cooking post but it’s in the lifestyle genre I’d say. My story in a nutshell is that I was in a serious relationship, went through an awful break-up and heartbreak, and running is one of the things I credit with getting me back to a happy place. I’m currently single and have had no luck with the NYC bar scene (how many people actually have) and have been pondering searching online. I mean, even Jennifer Love Hewitt is thinking about it. I’ve briefly done it before but I always am “over it” before I really give it a shot. That or I just don’t like anyone I meet. So has anyone met their current significant others online and have thoughts about it or have other ideas for getting myself out there?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 16:23:35

    well, if you need proof that it works, check out http://www.tallmomontherun.com Melanie and her husband met through an online service and they seem incredibly happy!

    Reply

  2. Heather (HLSMOC18)
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 17:42:13

    I was going to write what Lisa wrote about Mel….
    goodluck!

    Reply

  3. Tall Mom- Mel
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 23:06:14

    Looks at my Bloggies remembering my story.. Yes my hubby and I met on Match.com and have been BLISSFULLY happy since the moment we met. I know it is rare but I am proof that it can work.

    As for your question about the arm sleeves, they are breathable and easy to take off during a race if I get too hot. Often races start in the AM when it is cold but the temps rise as I run. Being able to pull off the sleeves is really easy and I can even keep running.

    If you have any questions about online dating please email me 🙂

    Reply

  4. Amy
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 06:15:27

    That’s how my sister met her husband, so I say go for it!

    Reply

  5. Tonia
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 08:28:22

    Ha! I was totally going to tell you about Mel. My buddy Dee also met her hubby on Match.com and my sister also online dates. They both have blogs and I can pass along their info if you want to contact them with questions!

    Reply

  6. Eileen Ross
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 10:48:34

    Go for it!

    Reply

  7. Previously Plump
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 11:54:11

    I think it’s a fun experience – I didn’t meet my husband online, but I know people who have – they all say they it’s a great way to meet people.

    What ahve you got to lose?

    Reply

  8. shorty on the run
    Apr 04, 2010 @ 18:07:42

    My fiancé and I met online and we are getting married this upcoming May. You have to sort through a lot of douchebags, but if you’re persistent at it, it can work! Then again, maybe all the douchebags were on the same website I was. I didn’t want to pay any fees so I was on plentyoffish.com. I am really glad I stuck to it as I met my lovey! Give it a try! What have you got to lose?

    Reply

  9. hundredtenpounds
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 20:26:12

    I met my boyfriend online–not a dating site. We had some common interested and started chatting once a week or so. Then it was a few times a week. Then it was every day. We were just email buddies for months–then we started flirted. 🙂 It was a slow go at it, but we finally got together. I moved in with him last summer and we’ll be celebrating our 2 year anniversary this June. My best friend met her husband (who is awesome) on Match.com.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

