10 miles and a Nike fail

Well I did my first 10 mile run today and the last long run before the half. I actually felt better this week than I did during the 9 but after was a little brutal. It was only 29 degrees when I left this morning and it took awhile to warm up once I got back home. Seriously last week I ran in a tank and this week it’s 29 degrees! I did the 10 in 1:46 but my Nike didn’t record the mileage. Total fail. So glad I bought the garmin this week, I’m just waiting for it to get here. I’m not the happiest about my time but now I’m just going to go into the race thinking, who gives a shit what my time is because just a few months ago I never thought I’d run a half marathon. I’ll leave the PR’s and such for my shorter races when I can really push myself to go faster. I also wore the iFitness belt. It was light, it didn’t bother me, although I did pull it down a few times. I’m undecided about whether or not I’ll wear it for the race since I can stick my honey stingers in my butt pocket regardless. I just made a delish wrap with 1 egg, 2 egg whites, a little spinach and mashed sweet potato.

So good! I constantly am getting ideas from Caitlin at www.healthytippingpoint.com if you don’t already know, she writes a great blog.

Last night I also brushed up on my dormant baking skills. I got the urge at work for muffins so after some googling I found this recipe for apple oat muffins. I ommitted walnuts since I’m sorta allergic and added raisins to half of them. They came out great, were really easy, and only about 100 cals per muffin. No oil in them and if you use soy milk, they’re vegan.

Yep, just call me healthy Betty Crocker. Okay, off to relax. Birthday dinner and party for a friend tonight. Enjoy the weekend and don’t forget to enter my giveaway 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fitandfortysomething
    Mar 27, 2010 @ 14:09:09

    i get great ideas from caitlin too! oh still thinking of getting the garmin. i used to use the nike thing too but it is so inaccurate, now i am using my runmeter app on my iphone but it is a pain too.
    have a great day!

    Reply

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Mar 27, 2010 @ 14:29:34

    Caitlin’s also one of my favorites to steal ideas or inspiration from… so much of her stuff looks so good! Such as your wrap… 🙂

    Reply

  3. Melissa
    Mar 27, 2010 @ 23:25:17

    Great run!! Those muffins are looking awesome!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

