Three things Thursday

1) Today I read this awesome Runner’s World article about the 6 grossest things about running. I’ve written about my own experience with chafing and such here so it’s always nice to know I’m not alone. A big worry of mine for my half is that when it’s over I’ll have stomach cramping and be stuck in a park in Queens.

2) I bought the garmin! After everyone’s comments about how it’s the best thing they’ve ever bought I went ahead and bought the 305. I’m excited to use it and I have to admit one of the reasons I bought it was so that I’ll keep up with my long runs once the half is over. I worry how I’ll feel not having a race to train for and so with my garmin it’s motivation to keep that up and try to improve my time. It’ll also be super helpful during my runs down at the shore when I don’t really know how far I’ve gone.

3) I’m totally debating what I should run with for the half. I just got the iFitness belt so I want to try it out on my long run Saturday but do I really want to have it on me for the race? I thought maybe I’d want my phone but my sister is convinced she’ll be able to find me at the finish. My capris have a butt pocket so I know I can stick my chews in that but I keep going back and forth one what I want with me. My shuffle is attached to my tank so that’s not an issue. Advice?

PS: Thinking about doing my first give-away tomorrow so keep an eye out 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kalli@fitandfortysomething
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 15:18:02

    congrats on the garmin-so jeolous!
    giveaway-can’t wait to see!

    Reply

  2. Tonia
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 19:09:42

    Yay for the Garmin!
    I always wear a race belt of some sort so that I know everything is secure!

    Reply

  3. Jocelyn
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 20:00:12

    Exciting about a garmin! Have you named it yet? I don’t have one but I think the thing to do is name it? 😀

    Reply

  4. Jacklyn Johnston
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 23:38:05

    OOO…you broke down and got a garmin. I need to do that. My running partner has one and I’m jealous 🙂 That runner’s world article cracked me up! Perfect!

    Reply

  5. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 23:55:09

    Congrats on snagging the garmin!

    And I totally read that article, too. I giggled a little… and then wondered how long it’s going to take for me to experience some of those things…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

