Fail-proof and tasty meal

When I made my chicken chili last week I learned the best, easiest, healthiest and most tasty way to cook chicken. I haven’t bought raw chicken in months because I eat mostly vegetarian when I cook and I never like how it comes out. But folks, that’s all changed. I bought 2 packages of chicken breast with skin and on the bone (they were on sale so I froze 1 package). You pre-heat the oven to 350, then put a little olive oil, salt and pepper on the chicken and roast for 35 minutes. When it comes out it’s perfectly cooked. I remove the skin once it’s done, and the remaining meat is so juicy and delicious. Last night I paired it with roast broccoli. I spread out the florets on a cookie sheet with tinfoil, put on some olive oil, salt and pepper, sprinkled some chopped up fresh garlic and then roasted on the top rack while the chicken was on the bottom. Again it was perfect! It has almost a nutty flavor from the roasting and while I could have eaten the entire portion, I was able to save half for tonight’s dinner that will go with the 2nd chicken breast I cooked. Here’s my attempt at capturing the goodness.

Today’s workout lineup is weights and stretching. Current swoon? The Garmin 305 that EVERYONE raves about and is currently like half price on Amazon. Should I do it?

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fitandfortysomething
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 09:39:32

    what a garmin at half price must check this out……i might have to get it too!

    Reply

  2. 3:59:59. Bitches
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 10:39:29

    1. I suck at cooking but a meal like this seems both feasible and delicious, and a good way to trick my boyfriend into thinking I know my way around the kitchen.
    2. I am about to impulse buy the Garmin. Not sure if I should be thanking you for pointing out the sale or cursing you for enabling me to find yet more ways to burn through cash.

    Reply

  3. It's A Great Day To Be Alive
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 11:17:09

    Does the watch only do GPS or can it track static running like on a treadmill? Sounds like a good deal.

    Reply

  4. Lori (Finding Radiance)
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 12:49:57

    I would love a Garmin. How often does 1/2 price come around??

    Reply

  5. Heather (HLSMOC18)
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 12:54:24

    I purchased my Garmin 305 off Amazon a couple months back and it is the best thing I have ever had..with regards to running, besides my BOB duaille jogger! I would highly recommend it! Just remember to plug it in every night b/c the worst thing is when you go to put it on and it flashes “low battery!!!” (also at first I would stare at it the whole time I ran b/.c I was obsessed with seeing my pace…it is awesome for that b/c before I thought I ran at a pretty steady pace, but found out I completely am all over the place!!!)

    Reply

  6. Allison
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 13:04:48

    I am in love with my Garmin! I use it ALL THE TIME. I really contribute my Garmin to my increased speed. Knowing your pace is awesome. I highly recomend it. It also pushes me…If I see I have done 4.75 miles, I will go ahead and do 5. Get one!

    Reply

  7. misszippy
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 13:18:46

    Yum! I think roasting brings out the best in so many foods. As to the Garmin–I don’t wear one, so I can’t advise. But 1/2 price seems pretty darn good.

    Reply

  8. Tonia
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 13:55:34

    Get the Garmin! Best running tool ever! And can you come cook me dinner? Everything you eat looks so yummy!

    Reply

  9. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 15:14:53

    Oh that does look good!

    But I have serious issues roasting veggies… I’ve had my fire alarm go off more than once- and nothing was even burning! I swear it’s a conspiracy…

    Reply

  10. Tricia
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 17:14:53

    go for it!

    Reply

  11. kc
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 20:18:36

    i made chicken a few months ago for the first time in my 39 years of existance. i know! hard to believe. it came out very tasty. hopefully it doesn’t take another 39 years for me to do it again.

    you were one of the winners of the Ryders eyewear. The first person chosen picked the hi-jacks so now i need to know which one’s you would like. You have a choice of the blue drills and the matte army green hi-jacks. visit my blog profile page and email me which you would like and what address to send it to.

    Thanks!

    Reply

  12. fitandfortysomething
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 09:33:44

    are yo gonna buy the garmin……i am thinking about it too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

