1st day of Spring

What a gorgeous day it was in NYC on the first day of Spring. Perfect weather, I’d say, for my 9 mile run. The night before I picked up some new gear at Jackrabbit and what I got is officially going to be my race day outfit. The capris are so light with a convenient butt pocket in the middle of the back and I love the top and how the top layer isn’t tight so I don’t feel self-conscious. Here’s an attempt at me posing:
No idea why my hips look huge in this pic. Anyway, I set out on my 9-miler a little nervous because my stomach was feeling iffy. The first loop (6) I felt like it went by faster than it usually does. The 2 hills in CP really kill me. After the loop I grabbed my water that I had left with our training leader. I also ate 4 honey stinger chews. I was nervous about downing the water and stopping before continuing because I was afraid it would kill my stomach. But I pushed on through. I had 2 more loops of the reservoir left. I swear they couldn’t have felt longer. I had some pain in my left knee and after the first I was struggling. A girl in my group ran up next to me and really pushed me to go fast. We’re in the same pace group but girl was kickin ass. I kept up with her for the most part, lagging a little, but then we finished it out together. So I ran my first 9 miles! My ending time was 1:35:56, although I finished my first 6 in about 57 so that’s awesome! Here’s my graph although it’s completely off. I’ve been using my old nano because I have nowhere to put the iTouch and it’s just not calibrated. But I still can see where I pushed myself at the end.

Next week is 10 and then it’s the race. I’m still feeling nervous because I was hurting but the race course isn’t anywhere near as hilly as CP so that should help. I also need to try to eat real clean from now until the race (last night’s beer & 5 guys so doesn’t count) because I was stressing more than I needed to about how my stomach would handle the run. Bring on the plain chicken and sweet potatoes.

When I got back to my apt and de-geared I noticed this had happened to my hat:
I thought it was sweat but then realized I put the hat in the wash last weekend so it’s probably detergent. Weird and slightly disturbing!

After the run I relaxed before heading out to watch b-ball. On the way C and I saw a building fire! It was crazy. Everyone was on the streets watching and I’ve never seen so many fire trucks.
Hello there, firemen.

Today I’m having a bit of insomnia, I’ve been up since 6:30. Aren’t 27-year-olds still supposed to sleep in on weekends? My neck and upper back really hurt but not sure if it’s from the run or just the way I slept. NYC Half is today so I might walk over to the park and see some of the runners. Happy Sunday!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kelli
    Mar 21, 2010 @ 07:56:54

    wow that is great time!!!!! 9 miles!! AND HILLS. I am so scared of those cp hills. I haven’t seen them yet. What is that tracker system you put up?? I’d love to try that..I have itouch…

    GREAT JOB! When is your race?

    Reply

  2. Rundad
    Mar 21, 2010 @ 08:24:41

    Great post. WTG on the 9 miler. Good luck with your 10 next week.
    Happy running,
    Rundad

    Reply

  3. Kelly
    Mar 21, 2010 @ 09:39:11

    Great 9 mile run!! I totally agree about the early morning thing. I have been up since 7:00am…what the heck!?! haha! Anyway…thanks for posting on my blog so I could jump over to yours! I am already excited to find a fellow runner! 🙂

    Reply

  4. fitandfortysomething
    Mar 21, 2010 @ 12:24:28

    thanks for stopping by my blog! great job on the 9 miler girl-you rocked it;)

    Reply

  5. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Mar 21, 2010 @ 14:25:52

    Congrats on getting through the 9!! That’s awesome! I think the reservoir can be really deceiving because it can take quite a while to get all the way around even though you can see the entire thing! The twists and turns really add to the distance! You are totally going to rock your race!!

    Crazy about the fire! There was one Friday too. It’s so sad whenever there’s a fire. I hope they’re okay.

    Hope you’re having a great day!

    Reply

  6. Tonia
    Mar 21, 2010 @ 17:46:46

    Yay for the 9 miler! Race day is so close! Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

