Not gonna lie…getting nervous

Hi folks!
Today I write to you from my bed as I enjoy a luxurious day off. Since I worked 2 weekends in a row I got a comp day which was definitely needed. I woke up and went for a run in the park. I really wanted to try for 10 but just couldn’t do it. Stupid water fountains aren’t on in CP yet and I was dying of thirst. I did the full 6 mile loop and it was actually really nice out. My pace was a little slower than usual though. My legs lately have been feeling like bricks. I just don’t have that great I can run and run until the cows come home feeling. After the 6, and the lack of water (though I did have 4 Honey Stinger chews- they’re so tasty) I knew 4 more was probably out of the question so I did about 2 more. I’m not exactly sure of the distance but I ran some more in the park and then back home to my apt. Don’t I look hot?

Β Race day is 2 & 1/2 weeks away (holy f*ck) and the fact that I couldn’t push to 10 today scares me like no other. Is it nerves? Maybe I’m just not built to run that kind of distance? This Saturday is 9 and I have to push myself to do it. It’s with the group, which always helps.

After the run I got a mani/pedi and boy were my toes in bad shape. At least they’re a pretty pink now. I just made some oats with pumpkin, flax and PB and plan to relax the rest of the day until I get out of bed and get to the grocery store. Gonna try to make Chicken Chili tonight.

In other, more cheerful and not Debbie Downer news, I won my first giveaway from Purseblog’s twitter! I’m super stoked. I’m also in the middle of filling out my NCAA brackets. I get crazy into March Madness and I’m in my ex-boyfriend’s pool which means I really have to win!!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 13:32:54

    I know how you feel, but you can do this. As long as you get a couple of 9-10 mile long runs in before the big day, I think you will do great! πŸ™‚ The excitement of the day, the other runners and people cheering you on will help carry you those extra three.

    Reply

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 14:18:08

    Don’t be nervous! You’ve been doing great so far! And I find the adrenaline kick on race day does wonders. No joke.

    Reply

  3. Tonia
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 14:32:58

    You are going to be fine!! Believe in yourself. And feel free to send some of that chicken chili this way, it sounds delish!

    Reply

  4. Jocelyn
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 14:35:18

    You’re going to rock it! πŸ™‚
    Hope you kick your ex’s ass

    Reply

  5. Jacklyn Johnston
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 16:22:51

    Hey lady! Hang in there. You’ve put in the the training and you are ready. Sometimes you just have bad days, physically and mentally, and you just need to take it slow and do what your body says. Don’t psych yourself out…you’ll do great! You are ready! Promise πŸ™‚

    Reply

  6. shorty on the run
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 16:28:25

    Remember, races are 99.9% mental. You’ll be carried by the other runners and I have no fear that you’ll do well! Sending you positive vibes!

    Reply

  7. Allison
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 08:26:18

    You will do great for your first half! The emotions alone will carry you through. Trust in your training and know that you can do this! I only did 11 before my first half and after I finished, I said, A Marathon, no problem! So Even if you only get to 9 or 10 you will be fine. Good luck on your 9 this weekend!

    Reply

  8. Christy
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 08:51:18

    Push through that 9 this weekend! It will give you a confidence boost. During the actual race, you will have this adrenaline rush that will get you through. You will have the the other runners to motivate you too. Go for it!

    Reply

  9. kelli
    Mar 18, 2010 @ 07:07:30

    hey!! You will do great! I am so nervous too. I ran with a group for the first time 2 days ago. It felt great! If I could just run with them everytime..I think it would help!
    Good luck on your race!! Mine is almost hear too! OH no!
    What are honey chews?? People keep telling me to try to find things to eat while I am running?? I don’t know how that is possible..but do you?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

