Rainy run report

After all your motivating comments and words of wisdom I knew there was no way I’d skip out on Saturday’s run. It was a timed 10k (6 miles) and I was hoping to then do the 4 mile loop after but the rain was brutal and as soon as I finished the 6 I just wanted to dry off and crawl into bed. I felt like my pace was slow the whole time, especially with the crazy wind against me at times, but turns out I was on target. I finished in 59:22, about a 9:40 pace they said.

Next week is 9, then 10 the week after and then the race. My training leader says all you need to do before a race is 10 but it sorta freaks me out to go into a race not having ever completed the full distance. What’s your strategy? I’m already thinking about 2 more halfs I want to do, the Longbranch half in May and then the Disney Dine & Wine in October but super hesitant about signing up for more before I even finish my first! I do love having a goal for myself and can’t imagine how I’ll feel once my race is over and I no longer have something to train for.

I was out all yesterday so I’m glad I have today to just relax and maybe do some laundry. I just made coffee and it tastes like shit. Fail. Have a good one!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rundadrun
    Mar 14, 2010 @ 08:27:38

    Good job on getting out in the rain. I did the same in Cincinnati yesterday and I am glad I did. Nothing like running 6 miles in weather that ducks are smart enough to avoid to make you feel like a crazy runner. 🙂
    Rundad

    Reply

  2. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Mar 14, 2010 @ 12:19:46

    Congrats on the great results in less than ideal conditions! I do not blame you for bailing on the extra 4 and you really shouldn’t stress about it. My longest run before the marathon was 20 miles. That really freaked me out because there was another 10K to run after that! But, I still finished and I’m sure you’ll be able to run the additional 3!

    I haven’t heard of the Dine & Wine half marathon! Without knowing the details, that sounds fantastic!

    Reply

  3. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Mar 14, 2010 @ 14:07:40

    I only ever did 11 before my first half. It seemed fine — although the last couple of miles were tough. That’s what I did this time, too, so I’ll let you know how it goes next weekend! I’m like you. I hate the unknown, so I would’ve preferred to do 13. Now that I’ve done one race, though, I think I’m fine without doing it. You don’t want to wear out your legs. 🙂 Are you as confused as me after this comment?

    Reply

  4. Tonia
    Mar 14, 2010 @ 14:10:36

    Great job!

    I only ran 11 before my first half and although I have run 2 marathons, I have never run longer that 12 during any half training.

    Reply

  5. Sarah
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 11:45:39

    My first half is in 4 weeks and my plan is to run a 12 mile, a 13 mile and a 9 mile long run before the actual race. As long as I’m able to get in a few 9-10 mile runs, I’m not going to stress though. 😉

    Reply

  6. misszippy
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 12:17:32

    Good for you for getting out there…it wasn’t so bad, right? ; )

    I always over-distance my mileage for races (ie: 14s for 1/2 marathons, etc) but I know plenty of folks who have run 1/2s with 10 being their longest. You should be fine…adrenaline counts for a lot in a race.

    Reply

  7. kelli
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 04:19:59

    Sounds like you are having a great time with your training! Thanks for you comment on athleta chi. Last night I ran with a group of runners (a road runner group?)that one of my friends encouraged me to join. We ran 6.15 miles. It was great.. tough in the middle..we did it at 6:30 at night..so I was pretty tired from my day– but when I was done…it felt soo good! I love your website, it’s great and I can’t wait to read more about your journey!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

