Do I run in the rain?

Tomorrow does not look good weather-wise:

So the question is, do you run regardless of the kind of weather when you’re training? This weekend’s schedule calls for a timed 10k, which I’m actually disappointed about. So instead I was thinking I’d do the time 6 mile-loop and then add on the 4-mile loop to make it 10. I’ve never done 10. My race is 3 weeks away! (This is me screaming inside). I’m scared and I’m not ashamed to admit it. I have a tendency to freak out before all my races and think the worst will happen so I’m pleasantly surprised when I complete it. So I really want to run 9 or 10 this weekend so my nerves can calm a little, just like they did when I ran my first full 8 last Saturday. Unless it’s torrential and dangerous, do I go no matter what? Will I ruin my shoes?

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. misszippy
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 11:37:22

    Run! I’ve done countless runs in the rain, including a few 20-plus milers. It’s always the thought of it that is worse than the actual run. Once you’re out there and wet, it’s all just fine. As to your distance…I think you should do your 10k effort, and then see how you feel. If you are wiped out, don’t push much beyond another mile or two. If you feel pretty good still, give it a go at the longer distance.

    Reply

  2. rundadrun
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 11:49:25

    I have run in just about every weather condition, including some I shouldn’t have(like tornado warning thunderstorms). Although I don’t recommend that, I love the variety of weather that I run in. It makes it more fun, and when you are done, you get to say “I ran in that!”. Enjoy. About how far to go, I like to stick with my training plan as much as possible, but adding a couple of miles to a 10K shouldn’t mess you up.
    Happy running,
    Rundad

    Reply

  3. momof3
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 11:57:22

    YES! Emphatically the answer is always yes, because IF you train in the worst weather conditions, on race day you will be totally cool with whatever is thrown at you. After all, if it’s raining on race day, it’s not like you can “just run tomorrow”.

    Wear good wicking or dry fit socks & a ball cap. *the cap will keep the rain out of your eyes a bit.

    Reply

  4. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 12:58:25

    I ran my first 18 miler last summer in rain. It was downpouring for the last 2 miles or so. My shoes definitely got soaked, but I stuffed them with newspapers as soon as I got home, replaced it a couple times and they were fine the next day. It sounds like you’re really aching to run, so I think you should go for it, as long as there isn’t thunder, of course! And be sure to wear enough layers since it will be a bit chilly.

    I was actually really proud of myself after that run because it was also the first time I ran in so much rain. You never know what race day will be like and you won’t back out then because of weather! I felt pretty hardcore!

    Good luck!!

    Reply

  5. Christy
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 15:20:40

    Go for it! You might run a little faster because you want to get out of the rain 🙂

    Reply

  6. Marlene
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 15:59:26

    Hey, thanks for stoping by my blog and for the comment!

    Looks like we have similar weather to look forward to. :/

    I tend to stick to the schedule regardless… I hate to miss a run and re-scheduling stresses me out more than bad weather. :p

    Good luck!!!

    Reply

  7. Erin
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 16:42:31

    You should be fine in the rain. If it starts raining hard, pay attention to your feet. If your socks get really wet, you’re more likely to get blisters. That would be my only concern. Also, if your shoes get really wet, see if you can find those silicone packets that come in new shoe boxes (and occasionally come in pockets of jackets, etc). After your run, you can put some of those in a bag with your shoes and it helps remove the dampness.

    Reply

  8. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 18:23:40

    Ok, I would say yes, run in the rain. BUT, be weary of the temp. I love running in the rain during the spring/summer, but it’s still a little chilly… If you’re one to come down with colds often, I’m just throwing that out there as a warning…

    If you do go- enjoy it! It makes the run so much fun!

    Reply

  9. shorty on the run
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 21:34:25

    GO! Make sure you’re visible to traffic and give it a try. If you absolutely despise it, you can always go back, but you won’t have the regret of not trying it!

    Reply

  10. Jocelyn
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 22:34:14

    You’ll ruin your shoes for sure. Plan to get a new pair after this. Put socks on then wrap your feet in saran wrap so your socks dont get soaked. If you can, wait to run Sunday. Its suppose to rain a LOT! Good luck

    Reply

  11. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Mar 13, 2010 @ 00:07:04

    LOL! You will not ruin your shoes. They are running shoes! This is how Seattleites run. Rain, shine…whatever!

    Last fall, we did a long run and when I was done, water poured out of my sleeves! The temp looks exactly what it was here this morning when I ran my 3 in the rain. Wear a baseball hat — I think someone else suggested that, too!

    Have fun (it makes for great blog posts)!

    PS: BodyGlide between your toes because your socks will probably get wet (depending on how hard it is raining), which means moisture and rubbing. Put your electronic devices in Ziploc baggies to keep them dry.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

