First pre-work run of the season

For awhile now I’ve been getting my weekday runs in during lunch or as a last resort, after work. Since we’ve had a few nice days here in NYC I decided to finally take advantage and drag my ass out of bed an extra hour early and go for it. I woke up at 6 and headed to Central Park. I was originally going to do the 4 mile loop but decided on the Reservoir instead since I’ve never actually done it before. And who wouldn’t want to run around this?

I did two loops (each is about 1.58) in 30 minutes. I think I struggled a bit because I felt like I still had last night’s dinner (tofu and lentils and a cherry bomb) sitting in my tum. Afterwards I jogged back home and got ready for work. Although it feels like I’ve been up for hours now, it’s such a nice feeling that I can stay focused at work, not rush to get to the gym, and then can go home later and enjoy Grey’s and Private Practice knowing I already got in a good little run. Today’s breakfast is some left over greek yogurt with pumpkin, strawberries, banana and flax seed. How healthy am I?

I’m hoping today won’t be so crazy at work. Corey Haim died yesterday and any death equals working up a storm. Lucas is one of my favorite movies and I still like to think of Haim as the little lovable nerd from that film.

On a side-note, although I didn’t lose any weight this week, I’m wearing my tightest pair of jeans that I haven’t put on in awhile and they fit great. I think the running has really made a difference in my legs (I was blessed with big thighs and a huge ass) and my arms seem to be more muscular too. Score one for Robyn.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christy
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 17:45:20

    Good job with the morning run! I can’t get motivated to workout in the mornings….wish I could 😦

    Reply

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 18:00:29

    That is a gorgeous view to have while running! Jealous…

    I like the morning workouts. I really need to get back in the habit. Because you’re right- I feel so refreshed and energetic by the time I get to work. Instead of sluggish and slightly angry at the world… lol.

    I’m waiting until tomorrow to catch up on Grey’s… so shhhh! Don’t tell me what happens! πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  3. Jacklyn Johnston
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 13:56:59

    How are you liking the morning runs? Hmmm…that sentence doesn’t sound right but you know what I mean πŸ™‚ Love the ideas for Greek yogurt. I’ve been putting blueberries and honey in mine. Love it! Still need to catch up on Greys. Maybe I’ll do that tonight after my long run…if I survive.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

