The sickies suck

Today was the first Saturday I missed my long run in about 2 months and i’m actually really bummed out. Despite the fact that my training group was canceled because of the snow, I still wanted to go but with a minor foot injury (that I’d probably ignore) and an annoying chest cold I just couldn’t muster the energy. I usually look forward to the long runs, returning home a ball of energy and proud of myself for being amongst the marathon-training hardcore runners in the park but today I’m in bed cuddled up to old 90210’s and this:

Does anyone else miss running when they have to skip it?

Yesterday I had a nice half day. I stopped at the store on my way home and then made a nice little veggie and hummus sandwich lunch. I really wanted to make a wrap but the store didn’t have the small low-carb kind so instead I used whole wheat bread and made a mess:)

For dinner I was super tempted to order in but had the ingredients on hand to make a recipe I had wanted to try from the Unlikely Success Story blog. I adapted her lasagna babies recipe found here   and basically made a whole wheat lasagna (in an 8″ square pan) with spinach, eggplant, red onion and fat free ricotta. It came out pretty good although I think I could’ve used seasoning. I skipped that part of the recipe and I think it would’ve helped. Of course I made myself a plate with a side of some eggplant that I baked since I had leftover but then I kept picking at the lasagna tin b/c anything with sauce and cheese I can’t get enough of! Luckily I was able to spare some of the dish and have leftovers to enjoy today.

Have a great Saturday!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Feb 27, 2010 @ 20:44:23

    When missed a few days of running because of my foot, it seemed EVERYONE was running but ME! So I know what you mean. 🙂 Get better soon!

    Reply

  2. Christy
    Feb 28, 2010 @ 19:35:47

    Sounds like all signs say you weren’t meant to run today! Feel better soon 🙂

    Reply

  3. Jacklyn Johnston
    Feb 28, 2010 @ 20:05:15

    There’s nothing worse than missing a long run you were geared up and ready for but if you felt sick you’re smart to give it a rest for a bit. Feel better soon!!! You have the secret ingredient…honey! Also have heard a little Jack Daniels helps 😉 Hope you get some rest and feel better tomorrow.

    Reply

  4. momof3
    Feb 28, 2010 @ 21:15:54

    Hey – make sure you rest or treat the “minor” foot injury so it doesn’t become a tragic foot injury (says the voice of experience with a cringe in her voice).

    Hope you kick the cold fast!!!

    Reply

  5. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Feb 28, 2010 @ 21:27:08

    Old 90210 episodes are the best! They got me through an entire summer once! lol

    Hope you’re feeling a little better today!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

