Treadmill Thursday

What a yucky day in NYC. It keeps changing from snow to rain and combined with the wind it’s just nasty. This picture outside my office does not do it justice.

Yesterday I did not make it to the gym, but saw the Black Eyed Peas. Concert was just OK but still fun none-the-less. There was some weird robot action but Fergie, boy does she have a sick body.

Luckily I did make it to the gym today and ran on the treadmill. I did 4 1/2 miles in 45:30. I did the first 3 in under 30 but then slowed down a bit before speeding back up. It feels good to get a good run in since I haven’t really since Saturday. The only thing I’m worried about is that the part of my foot right under my 2 small toesies (on the right foot) has been hurting since Tuesday. I was running around all day at work in heels and I think I may have bruised it or something. That’s what I get for trying to look all fancy and not scrub-like. So far I’ve had a pretty well-balanced food day, starting out with a packet of flax plus Nature’s own oatmeal, a scrumptious Chobani non-fat Strawberry as a snack, and then for lunch leftover homeade roasted tomato soup and a sandwich with 2 slices of turkey, sliced tomato, spinach and some roasted red peppers.  

Tonight my friend A is taking me out for a belated birthday din to Southern Hospitality and I cannot wait to eat me some pulled pork. I think my nutritious meals thus far mean I can enjoy dinner tonight guilt-free, right?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 15:02:19

    Pulled pork actually became a favorite hangover food of mine a few years ago… sooo yummy! Nothing like curing a headache with BBQ…

    Have fun eating out tonight! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Christy
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 15:29:39

    Of course guilt free…..it’s your birthday dinner! 🙂

    Reply

  3. tonia
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 19:34:13

    Enjoy your belated bday dinner! Super jealous that you saw the Black Eyed Peas … love them!

    Reply

  4. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 23:31:33

    Okay, so I went to the podiatrist for the SAME EXACT pain in my foot a few weeks ago. Does it get all tingly and shoot pain into your two small toes? It might be something called Morton’s Neuroma. It’s basically a scarred nerve that has extra tissue built up and so it puts pressure on the nerve under there. So you might have damaged that nerve at one time and now it’s causing you issues. It could be from ill-fitting shoes or tying your laces too tight, as well.

    Here’s my post about it:
    http://momvsmarathon.blogspot.com/2010/02/days-202-203-whats-up-with-my-foot.html

    I got a cortisone shot, which hurt, but helped with the pain during my runs (although, it’s starting to come back a little). Basically, there’s no “cure,” you just have to take Ibuprofin. Zoe (Run, Zoe, Run) has this in BOTH feet. I feel lucky it’s just in one.

    I would definitely say heels don’t help.

    Oh, the one thing I got that has helped TONS are these insoles called Super Feet. The Pod told me to get them and they ROCK. You can find them at running stores and they’re like $20 or something.

    Great job fitting in your treadmill run!

    Reply

  5. Erin
    Feb 26, 2010 @ 13:02:22

    Hey R! So you’ve inspired me to start being more healthful this year! I rejoined WW and I started running again (actually, started running today). What type of music do you listen to when you go running? Do you have a set play list for running? Do you have a warm up and cool down? Do you mix is up or stick to a typical play list? What song pumps you up the most?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

