An open letter to my scale

Dear scale,
Please move (to the left — I’ll kill you if you go to the right). I’ve been working so hard with my running and eating pretty darn well and although I’ve had endulged here and there and may have enjoyed a few nights with my dear old friend red wine, I’d love it if I could lose just another pound. It’s been two solid weeks of no weightloss so I think I you deserve a little nudge.
All my love,
Robyn

PS. I know my running distance has been increasing, does anyone know if the non-weightloss could be due to building muscle in my legs?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Monica
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 20:31:44

    Thanks for posting on my blog. 🙂 They are definately cute, but boy do they stink when I come home from work.

    I’ve always been told, ” a pound of muscle weighs the same as a pound of fat”

    Reply

  2. tonia
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 21:05:02

    super cute post! um, you could be building muscle and losing fat. I know that I weigh about 4 lbs more than I did before my last pregnancy and but now I wear a smaller size than I did before. Not sure how that works, but I like to think I replaced fat with muscle.

    Reply

  3. Jocelyn
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 21:48:53

    totally is muscle gain. I hate that, but its worth it. Ignore that evil scale! Mine goes to the right and then to the left…it depends on the day. I hate it!

    Reply

  4. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 00:30:24

    RunnerDude just did three great posts on running and weightloss. Check ’em out!
    Start with this one:
    http://ncrunnerdude.blogspot.com/2010/02/sprint-and-lift.html
    Then, read the next two. 🙂

    Reply

  5. lisa
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 01:04:42

    Hey there,
    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Love finding new running blogs.

    Re the weight thing… could it be that you aren’t eating enough? If you aren’t your body will hold on to the weight. Seems weird but if you aren’t eating enough for your activity level you won’t lose. Just a thought.

    Reply

  6. Previously Plump
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 09:59:57

    tee hee – I love writing letters to inanimate objects… makes me feel like they might actually listen to me 🙂

    Reply

  7. Amy @ Second City Randomness
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 12:28:51

    ahaha- love it! My scale and I are frenemies for sure. I try not to obsess about it too much- if I get obsessive, it’s with the tape measure. I feel like it’ll give me a more accurate idea with what’s going on with the bod after a good week of working out! 🙂

    Unless it’s right after I have chinese food… then not so much… lol!

    Reply

  8. Sarah
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 13:30:35

    As another wannabe runner and writer, I had to peek in! 🙂 I’m also wanting to cut 5-10 pounds and the running is definitely ticking it down slowly but I wonder if I’m also adding weight in muscle. I can only hope it’s not the red wine!

    Reply

  9. momof3
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 15:37:44

    milage increase could be causing you to eat a tiny bit more, and therefore eliminating the weight loss. (OMG. I just wrote THAT on a perfect stranger’s blog??? She’s not even going to like me now. Uhg.)

    OK, but seriously, I think that if you’re continually see improvement in the fit of your size 4’s, and the scale doesn’t move, then there’s the visible proof of muscle increase. Or, you prefer the scientific method, you could get a machine or Dr to measure your body fat, but, and I’m going to be honest here, be prepared to hate the answer. I know I almost killed myself.

    Finally, cute post. I wrote a breakup letter to chocolate not that long ago. Unfortunately for my hips, we got back together over the holidays – you know how THAT happens… you go home, see an old flame, and poof, the size 4’s are banished, and the 6’s are snug.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

