My 1st 6-miler!

Yep I did it and let me tell you it was tough. I’ve run plenty of 4 and 5’s but this time I hit a wall. But you know what, I didn’t stop! And I even did it in under 60 min. My official time was 59:22. Yay me. And that was with 2 killer hills they don’t warn new runners to Central Park about. I also tried out the sports beans, although I only ate 2. The flavor was good but I got super thirsty after. I think I’ll try them again next time or the Honey Stingers I also bought. After the run my body definitely felt it and I didn’t have my usual runner’s high. Why is that? My tum also started cramping and I thought on my walk home I’d pull a “walk into a restaurant, do some damage in their bathroom, and run out of there” (you runners know what I mean) but I made it home and my cramps went away. Here’s a pic of me pre-run with my new Sports Beans and my Nike graph.


Thanks to everyone who made me realize it’s OK to endulge once in awhile. Yesterday I got back on track, ran 3.5 on the treadmill and cooked up a wonderfully healthy meal. I’d say it was about 10 points which I was surprised about but it still fit in my daily allotment. I first tried out my new steamer and it worked really well. Those veggies I put away to enjoy over the weekend. For the meal I cooked up extra lean ground turkey and then mixed it with cauliflower, broccoli and frozen peasย that I had sauteed with a can of the wonderful diced tomatoes K & M got me for my birthday from Williams Sonoma. I also tried gluten-free multi grain pasta for the first time just because. I was once diagnosed with Celiac and although I’m not positive I really have it (and don’t follow a gluten-free diet) I think I’m somewhat sensative to it. The pasta was good although came out a little mushy and that was with boiling it for less than the time suggested. Has anyone ever tried to make this? Anyway, I combined 1 serving of the pasta with the ground turkey/veggie mixture and added a store-bought Barilla tomato sauce on top with a smidgen of romano cheese. YUMM-O is all I have to say. So glad I have tons of leftovers to enjoy throughout the weekend. Enjoy the pics and everyone have a fabulous Saturday. I know I have cleaning and old 90210 reruns in my near future ๐Ÿ™‚

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. marathonkim
    Feb 20, 2010 @ 18:11:57

    Congratulations! I came across your blog last week from another one (can’t remember which), and I was so excited to see this post because tomorrow is my first 6-miler. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  2. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Feb 20, 2010 @ 23:16:19

    Woohoo! Great job. Just keep upping your mileage a little at a time and it’ll get easier.

    Did you drink water with the Sport Beans? You definitely should take them with water; that could be why you got thirsty. If not, it just might not be your thing.

    PS: I have a friend with a petty extreme level of Celiac disease. She has lots of tummy and gastro issues that have gotten better since she started eating gluten-free several years ago.

    Reply

  3. Jocelyn
    Feb 21, 2010 @ 11:13:45

    Yeah! CONGRATS on an awesome first 6 miler! CP is very hill and very tough so to make it under 60 minutes is impressive. Great job girl

    Reply

  4. Katherine
    Feb 21, 2010 @ 19:58:37

    Congrats on the 6 miler – that’s awesome! I did my first 5k in 6 years yesterday and got some crazy gas pains from my ribs down to my lower belly after the run and had no idea what was going on. I hadn’t eaten anything to bring that on. I’m glad to know that’s a normal “runner” thing and not just me! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  5. Previously Plump
    Feb 22, 2010 @ 13:43:30

    WAHOO!!!! you reached my goal! (yes, you heard me…)

    When I do my 6 mile in may I want to come in at under an hour – you are now my inspiration!

    wow, what an acheivement! You must feel fan-dan-tastic ๐Ÿ™‚

    Keep it up, keep it up!

    Reply

  6. Jacklyn Johnston
    Feb 22, 2010 @ 14:12:38

    Congrats! I just ran my longest run ever this weekend too. Holy cow! haha, I can feel it today ๐Ÿ™‚ Keep it up girl.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

