When work (and a social life) gets in the way

There’s a reason I love to get my workouts in during lunch and it’s because after work life tends to get in the way. Not to mention it’s such a nice feeling to leave work and just go home to relax. I knew yesterday would be tricky since I had a 12:30 conference call. (My conference calls consist of reporters asking ex-Bachelor contestants questions. Tough life right?) I purposely ate my little turkey wrap around 11:45 so that I could do my tempo run after the call and not be starving. Well call started late and the girls didn’t stop talking and then I felt like I should rush to transcribe the interviews and get my story out. A couple of hours later I got a really exciting interview and was almost too hyped up to go to the gym if that makes sense. The other thing standing in the treadmill’s way was plans to go to happy hour. Ironically it was a fundraiser for a co-worker of my roommate’s who is in Team in Training and raising money for her marathon. I have to support my fellow runners, right? So I went out and did not get my run in. Fine. But drinking after work usually leads to one thing for me…pizza. Why my roommate and I thought drinking a tequila-based pomegranite drink was a good idea I do not know. Oh yeah, “specialty” drinks were half-price. By 9 I was drunk to say the least. I hadn’t eaten dinner so after my cab ride home I grabbed what has become my weakness. Delizia pizza. (Two slices- one with chicken, the other with broccoli). So good but today I feel gross. I’m hoping to get a tempo run in today, definitely not go out tonight, and run my 6-miler tomorrow. Is it okay to cheat on my running with my good friends alcohol and pizza once in awhile?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tonyne @ Unlikely Success Story
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 10:10:17

    Ok, first of all, don’t call it “cheating” because your are not cheating on anything or anyone. You indulged, enjoyed it and now you move along. It is absolutely ok to indulge once in awhile. If you don’t, you’ll go crazy. At least that’s my philosophy. πŸ™‚

    Re: Tomato and Soup and grilled cheese is my favorite comfort food! I love, love, love it.

    Reply

  2. Lisa @ Early Morning Run
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 12:55:22

    Wow, I could never get a lunch workout in, but always wished I could. Good job on supporting a runner, but I have the same problem. drinking leads to eating foods I wouldn’t normally. that’s why I tend not to drink to much anymore, although I do indulge sometimes! good luck with your tempo run today and 6 milers tomorrow!

    Reply

  3. Jocelyn
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 14:55:20

    OH man, now all I want is a specialty drink and pizza…
    Hope you are able to get out and run! Its always good to have a random break here and there. Absence makes the heart grow founder. Running will forgive you

    Reply

  4. Jacklyn Johnston
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 15:46:01

    I am RIGHT there with you! Except it’s usually beer and taco bell. I know. It’s terrible. Is it ok to say I run so I can eat that stuff πŸ™‚ I love just going home and relaxing. I can never get that afterwork run in. I have started going in the morning which sucks when I first wake up but when I’m siting at my desk and have coffee in my hand with my workout done…priceless.

    Reply

  5. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 17:23:40

    LOL! I hate the “next day” feeling — especially after pizza. I don’t know what it does to me over night…okay, that does not sound good. Aaaanyway, I think it’s fine to indulge. I have a problem continuing to indulge the next day, then the day after, etc. So, for me, I just have to remember to stop indulging.

    To answer your question: My co-workers know I run at lunch. Nobody really says much to me about it, except my office-mate because she sometimes works out at lunch, too, so she always asks me how it went. I get sweaty and gross, so I clean up the best I can. But whatever. I don’t have time after work, so I have to get it done then. Maybe I’ll do a post about this. Thanks for the idea!

    Reply

  6. Anne
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 20:25:24

    Apparently, I’ve often read that it’s important to indulge once in a while, helps you stay on track πŸ™‚ …so when you do indulge, just enjoy and forget about feeling guilty. Now, back on the wagon we go!

    Reply

  7. Previously Plump
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 20:56:03

    Um, absolutely excusable! I’m all for supporting my friends – I mean, what kind of friend would you be if you didn’t?!

    Yay – long run tomorrow – Good luck babe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

