Fueling and hydrating

You learn something new every day and let me tell you I had no freakin idea that there was more to running then just lacing up your sneaks and going. Thanks to all the blogs I now follow I’ve realized that in order to make it through my first half I’m going to have to start fueling and hydrating. Gu and Nuun are scary words but I think it’s about time I start testing out some of these products to get my tummy ready. And let me tell you there’s a reason I never drink water during a race. I have a very sensative stomach and the last thing I want to do is take a detour and find some unsuspecting restaurant’s potty like my friend over at Shut Up and Run had to. Read her post here if you are in need of some roaring laughter! So after doing some research, here are the optionsΒ I think might be the best for me. A good article I found on pre, during and post fueling was sent to me by Active.com and is called The Best Natural Fuel for Runners. You can read here. My friend Kerrie over at Mom vs. Marathon just reveiewed Nuun here and although it reminds me of Airborne, it seems like a good option for staying hydrated. Problem is I’ve never carried a water bottle so I’d have to get in that habit or get a fuel belt. So much to do before the effin race!! Honey Stingers also sound like a good option since I like honey and anything that’s gel (ie Gu) freaks me out. Here’s a good review on them. I think I’ll pick up some different options tomorrow and test one of them during my 6 mile run on Saturday. I’ll let you know how it goes!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jocelyn
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 10:10:39

    there are also hand held water bottles, some people like those better. Definitely true out different fuel options. I like Sports Beans because they are just like jelly beans. If you get a fuel belt/hand held try mixing Gatorade and water (1/2 and 1/2). There are a bunch of options out there! Hope you find something that wont upset your stomach.
    Run 6 after my 13? hmmm then I’d really my end up face down unable to move! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Tonyne @ Unlikely Success Story
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 10:45:33

    I don’t run with water either, I wonder about the water belts. I probably need to figure something out soon with my 10k coming up.

    In response to your question on the Lasagna Babies the recipe makes 2 servings. 2 Babies. The mini-loaf pans look a lot bigger in the picture than they actually are. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. Jacklyn Johnston
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 10:58:25

    Thanks so much for this post and for all the links to the articles. I really need to pay more attention to this too. I got away with not doing it for the 1/2 but I’m attempting to run a full and know I’ll hit the wall if I don’t fuel and hydrate. I’m going to test some of these for my long run this week. I can’t wait to hear how it goes for you.

    Reply

  4. nikki224
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 11:33:53

    Hi Robyn! Thanks for visiting my blog and for the congratulations! And good luck with your half training! I had some major injury issues but crossing that finish line made it all worth it! (California just made it a little better) πŸ˜‰

    I second the sports beans recommendation! I used them in my half!

    Reply

  5. runeatdatesleep
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 12:09:32

    There’s only one Gu I can handle, and it’s the Chocolate Outrage. It tastes and feels just like chocolate syrup. I wouldn’t lie about these things!

    But I have the same fear as you- runner’s trots. My first big race is in 2 weeks, and I’m terrified I might need to utilize a bush… on Disney grounds. I’m sure they hunt you down and staple your feet to the Small World ride for something like that.

    Thank you for visiting my blog and commenting! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  6. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 14:51:23

    Just remember to only test one thing at a time! πŸ™‚ Thanks for the shout-out. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  7. Jill
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 08:00:42

    I have uber sensitive stomach and cannot digest GU without major consequences so have been using Hammer products in my long runs and marathons. It’s a challenge figuring out how to carry them for a race but they do agree with me so I have to make it work. It’s an experiement, that’s for sure. They do give you energy though and may be what you need for your long runs. Good luck in finding what works for you! Happy Weekend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

