Eat Well

Eat Well is the title of the new cookbook I got for my birthday from my best friend/roomie K and friend M. Going through the recipes last night I cannot wait to try them out. Seriously, my friends know me so well and got me the perfect book paired with Williams Sonoma tomatoes and a salad dressing maker.

So after writing a bit of a Debbie Downer post yesterday I ended up having a good day. And thank you to everyone’s comments, they really lift my spirits! I got in a workout of 2 miles run, then some walking at an incline, and then 10 minutes on the stairmaster. Not my best, but I’ll take it. I had my weekly weigh-in and was pleasantly surprised that I did not gain any weight. I didn’t lose any either but with a week that included my birthday (cupcakes, endulging and lots of alcohol) I’m just glad to see the scale remain the same.

Last night I cooked up a scrumptious and healthy meal. I’m new to cooking tofu and last night tried roasting it with some root veggies I had and my new roasting pan. I counted the meal as about 9 points since I used 4 whole carrots, a package of brussel sprouts, 4 beets and a package of tofu and then split into 2 portions. Is half of all that too much for 1 meal you think? It was my first attempt at cooking beets since I usually just buy them pre-made. I swear I woke up and my apt still smelled amazing. I didn’t use any olive oil, just sprayed the roasting pan with non-stick spray and spread the veggies out. I had dunked the tofu in a mixture of 1/2 cup of Balsamic, 2 tbsp Soy Sauce and some garlic. I poured the remaining mixture over the veggies and it was enough to caramelize the Balsamic, especially on the leaves of the brussel sprouts. Yum! For dessert I had 1 Babybel light and a sugar-free jell-o pudding which came to the exact amount of daily points I get for the day. All in all a good day 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Allison
    Feb 17, 2010 @ 17:21:50

    I just found your blog thru chicrunner! I just did my first half last September and it was awesome. I will be starting to train for a marathon in June. I wish you luck with your training and on your race!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

