Puking in my Purse (a low point in life)

Sorry for the gross title but today was not a good day. I went to work ready (but not thrilled) to start the week. I had a great weekend but it definitely went too fast. I started feeling kinda sick in my morning meeting but thought it might be from having a few bar-food type munchies while watching the Super Bowl and maybe my tum wasn’t digesting it too well after being so healthy for the last 2 weeks. My head only got worse and since a stomach bug has been going around I pretty much jet out of work as soon as I told my bosses I was sick. Well for anyone familiar with cabs in NYC they are not a good idea for anyone with a slight pension for car-sickness or are already not feeling well. But I thought no way did I want to commute home on the subway. Needless to say I did not make it home. But such a smartie I am. I quickly dumped out all of the contents of my Longchamp purse into my gym bag in time before puking my brains out in the purse…twice. UGH. AT the red light I opened up the cab door and discarded the contents of my stomach and rode the 10 more blocks home and went right into bed. This is the second Monday in a row I’ve missed my workout and it’s really bumming me out. Do you think it’s safe to go running tomorrow (assuming it was just a 24-hour thing) or just take it easy?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Feb 08, 2010 @ 23:58:20

    Oh my gosh, you poor thing. Take it easy. Get better so you can run strong later.

    Reply

  2. Erin
    Feb 09, 2010 @ 13:18:36

    Oh that’s horrible. If you decided to run today, make sure that you are hydrated and that you aren’t running a fever. Stomach bugs can make you so dehydrated.

    Reply

  3. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Feb 10, 2010 @ 10:40:42

    Hey Robyn,
    In regard to your question about sport beans on Mom vs. Marathon: Jelly Belly makes a product called Sport Beans — they are little energy jelly beans for runners. I like them because they are easy on my tummy, and because they are small and fit in my fuel belt. I like the orange ones. You can find them at REI and probably most sporting goods stores, but I also found them at Rite Aid recently. Hope you are feeling better!

    Reply

    • Robyn
      Feb 10, 2010 @ 10:49:36

      Okay I’ll have to try that. Right now I never eat (or even drink water) during a race but I’m thinking that needs to change for the half.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

