Running in the Snow is Hardcore

Although my training group for today was cancelled due to the storm NY was expecting, I decided to try to get a run in anyway. I woke up bright and early (more like grey and early), saw no snow, and went for it. Today was my first time running solo in Central Park and also the first time I used my Nike + connected to my iTouch. I’ve had it for awhile but never used it because I love to run with my shuffle and it doesn’t work with it. After seeing the cool little graphs people like http://www.ashisfit.com/ use on their blog and remembering that right now I run outside with a jacket and can put the Touch in the pocket and not have to hold it, I calibrated and got ready to go. I’m a little weary of the stats I had and the mileage when I was done with the run was a bit off so I calibrated again to hopefully get the Nike + more accurate.  The trick to running outside is layers and you can see in the pictures below how much I must love running in order to look like a 12-year-old marshmallow in public. The actual run was pretty good, I decided to go the 4 mile route and it only started snowing on my last mile. Afterward it was so windy I even ran home from the park – of course stopping to pick up delicious Bagel Express coffee on the way home. I love that I could spend the rest of the day in bed and go out tonight guilt-free because I got a nice run in.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kerrie @ Mom vs. Marathon
    Feb 06, 2010 @ 23:24:56

    Love being guilt-free! Great job getting your run in before the snow. We are having crazy warm weather here in the Northwest. Maybe it’s moving your way next!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

